CCMS Schools win Principal of the Year awards in Derry and Belfast

Written on .

CCMS principals from both Belfast and Derry picked up awards at the Annual Blackboard Awards.

Belfast Principal of the Year

On Friday January 29th 2016, the Belfast Media Group hosted the 4th Annual Blackboard Awards, in the long Gallery in Stormont, recognising the quality of our schools, and awarding the best of classroom assistants, principals and teachers in Belfast.

Mr Jim McKeever, the Principal of Little Flower won the award for Principal of the year. He was presented the award by Stephen Bloomfield of Danske bank.

Derry Principal of the Year

On Friday February 26th 2016, Aisling Events along with Danske Bank hosted the 1st Annual Foyle Blackboard Awards, an event that celebrated the leading educationalists in Derry City and honoured the best of its primary and post primary schools. The accomplishments of principals, teachers was celebrated at a dinner in St Columb’s Hall, which highlighted their crucial role in transforming lives.

Mrs Marie Lindsay, the Principal of St Mary’s College in Derry won the award for Principal of the Year. She was presented the award by Sylvia Parron of Danske bank.

Congratulations also to Darren Currie and Cathal Hegarty from St Joseph’s PS, Derry for winning the Kainos Teaching Tech Award. They were presented their award from Jarleth Gallagher of Kainos.

 Full details of all the nominations and award winners can be found at